Ginger, Pear + Pistachio Blondies!

November 5, 2013

These blondies incorporate two of my favorite things–ginger and pear–so I really don’t know what took me so long to make them.  I’d always skipped over their page in my beloved copy of Martha’s Cookies cookbook (…where it all started, fall of 2008), but for whatever reason I woke up thinking about them the other day and then had to make them.  And to great effect.

I’ll admit I never was all that excited about the pistachio aspect.  I like pistachios, but I like pecans, walnuts, almonds, and hazelnuts better…and I  was about to swap until I remembered the bag of pistachios in my pantry.  And at that point, I just felt like I had to…resulting in my full endorsement of them in this recipe!  They have a unique flavor profile that’s earthy, semi-sweet and nutty, and beyond that, provide a nice toothsome crunch.  So there we go.  Plus they’re green, which looks nice alongside the neutral shades of a blondie.  Blondies–something I love but rarely, like never, eat.  Definitely overlooked among comfort food desserts.  Yes, brownies have the chocolate-y advantage of adjectives like ‘fudgy’ and ‘intense.’  But blondies have the thick chewiness that exists in the ideal cookie but are somewhat more pronounced, somehow both thicker and chewier than the best cookie in the world.

And the recipe is so easy!  I recommend adding about 1-2 teaspoons of grated fresh ginger, and about 1-1 1/2 teaspoons of cinnamon.

DSC_3308

DSC_3230

DSC_3253

DSC_3267

DSC_3319

Recently I’ve wondered about the concept of inclination.  What inherent designs propel a person toward another, a profession, a hobby, etc.  And, on a more vague/personal scale, what within pushes and pulls against various objectives without…subconscious decisions that don’t seem terribly important, and then make great impact.

The blondies fall on the shallow end of a wide range of examples from my life this week.  Situations like…driving to the grocery store and taking a left instead of a right, ultimately to my family’s old church for an unrealized need to light a candle for mom.  Or the way an old, un-sleeved and forgotten VHS tape of Breakfast at Tiffany’s suddenly makes its presence known, rendering me face-to-screen with an emaciated, apparently job-less version of myself.

That movie hit me like a freight train!  It was hardly 15 minutes in when I discovered a major affinity for Holly Golightly.  I laughed when Paul, taking in the semi-organized chaos of her apartment, asks how long she’s lived there.  A month’s time is what he no doubt expects, and raises his eyebrows when she casually answers “about a year.”  I can’t even count the number of times I’ve had that exact conversation with newcomers to my apartment.  And that’s just the tip of the iceberg.

The thing is, throughout the whole movie you just want so badly for her to see what’s right in front of her; to let life happen instead of adhering to a confused, stubborn will.  It might also make you wonder if you have a Paul Varjak.  ….

The movie brought to mind several songs (besides Moon River).  Suzanne by Leonard Cohen, for sure, and these two, especially in conjunction with fall and restlessness

(I’m actually just finishing up a minor Death Cab fling.  Hadn’t heard them for awhile….probably because I never really got on board.  He’s a brilliant lyricist but something about the songs never grabbed my attention.  UNTIL a few days ago, and I’ve been listening to Plans in its entirety ever since.  That song is my favorite.)

Processed with VSCOcam with b1 preset

(this afternoon)

One Response to “Ginger, Pear + Pistachio Blondies!”

  1. cherie miles Says:

    Hi Julia,
    I am also a big fan of Holly G. I am enjoying your blog. My mom passed away shortly after Christmas. She was 97. No matter how old you are or how long you have your mom, you always miss her. Hope to see you sometime in KC
    Cherie Miles


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 70 other followers

