Snickerdoodles!

March 31, 2014

I’ve come to view writing as a chicken vs. egg situation, in terms of ideas vs. time.  Do I write because I have the time, or do I write because I have ideas?  Often I feel like a walking backlog of ideas, over-full of phrases I’ve wanted to use for things I’ve wanted to say, but never get to.  Because their moment passes too quickly, rushed into a million others.  I happen to have the luxury of time tonight, and yet…and yet.  Luxury rarely produces much of anything (least of all inspiration).  Sure, perhaps it’d be a good time to reach into my intellectual archives but…I’ve never liked anything involving a backwards sense of motion.  So.  Instead of catching up on New York or New Haven, I’m pulling up a recipe.

Perhaps that’s the beauty of food blogging–there’s not a continual narrative involved.  It’s episodic, the writing about it therefore conducive to meandering thoughts.  Random, organic ideas.  Thus the elimination of the ideas vs. time dilemma, because the specific source of inspiration (the recipe) is static, and its accompanying thoughts are not tethered to time or place.

(necessarily. there’s always a time and a place.)

Also static: my love for snickerdoodles.  It’s really nice when your favorite thing is also the easiest thing–I’ve made these twice while on my trip, in Huntsville, Alabama and again in DC.  This is one of the first recipes I ever tried, as a sophomore in college, using only a fork and a bowl.  (as I did for every baking endeavor back then.)  Oddly enough, five years of experience later, that’s all I’ve used to make them on this trip.

My original post of this recipe is unbelievably boring so I’m just re-posting the WHOLE ENTIRE THING!

DSC_6856

DSC_6861

Snickerdoodles

(adapted from Martha Stewart’s Cookies)

Makes about 2 dozen.

Ingredients:

2 3/4 cups all-purpose flour

2 t baking powder

1/2 t coarse salt

1 cup unsalted butter, room temperature

1 1/2 cup sugar

2 eggs

—-

2 t ground cinnamon (although I usually end up with at least a half teaspoon more…)

2 T sugar

Directions:

1) Preheat oven to 350 F.  Whisk together flour, baking powder, and salt into a bowl.

2) Cream butter and 1 1/2 cups sugar in a large bowl until pale and fluffy.  Mix in eggs one at a time until well incorporated.  Reduce speed to low; gradually mix in flour mixture.

3) Stir together cinnamon and remaining 2 tablespoons of sugar in a small bowl.  Shape dough into 1 3/4 inch balls; roll in cinnamon sugar.  Space 2 inches apart on baking sheets lined with parchment paper.

4) Bake cookies until edges are golden and the tops are just beginning to crack, 10-11 minutes (or 12-15 if you prefer a harder cookie).  Immediately transfer onto a wire rack to cool and enjoy !!!!

DSC_6866

Back in Boston!  Funny to think that I had this blog throughout my entire time here; funny to think that I’ve had this blog for four years.

I’m going to stop there–before I get all sentimental, bordering on downright sappy.  And I should really go to sleep–I felt like I was coming down with something in New Haven, and after two straight days of rain in Boston, this cold is beyond a threat.  I brilliantly walked around in the wet blustery weather all day long, wound up seeking refuge at the downtown movie theater, and shivered throughout the entirety of The Grand Budapest Hotel.  Actually I’m still shivering.

Can’t remember when or where I first heard this song (so much for there always being a time and place–); all I know is that I feel like I’ve won the jackpot every time shuffle throws it at me.  That and it belongs in a movie soundtrack.

DSC_8166

lovely day for a walk in the park! (…)

Processed with VSCOcam with m3 preset

actually, it was the perfect day for record shopping in Cambridge.

2 Responses to “Snickerdoodles!”

  1. NotinkansAsanymore Says:

    Nevermind. Didn’t load the first time…


    • My dear NotinkansAsanymore,

      So very glad your crisis is averted!

      Despite feeling alarm over your initial inaccessibility, I must admit that I was also very glad–mainly that someone expressed an interest in the music going on here. (pretty sure it’s my primary concern)

      Cheers!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 71 other followers

